

Chelan-Douglas Health District

200 Valley Mall Parkway, East Wenatchee, WA 98802

Chelan-Douglas Health District Board of Health Regular Meeting Minutes – December 18, 2023

Board Members Present (quorum):

Marc Straub, Chair (4) Kevin Overbay (1) Shon Smith (2) Marissa Smith (7) Bill Sullivan (10) Jerrilea Crawford, Vice Chair (5) Dan Sutton (3) Sharon Waters (6) Bindu Nayak (8) Joseph Hunter (11)

Board Members Absent:

Alma Chacon (9)

Non-Voting Alternate Board Members Present:

Maria Hansen (11)

Michael Peterson (7)

Staff Present:

Diane Forhan, Operations Director Mariana Fletcher, Environmental Health Director Cari Hammond, Community and Family Health Director Dr. James Wallace, Interim Health Officer Peter Williams, CD/Epi Director Kent Sisson, EPR Director Kristen Hosey, Deputy Director Hollie Casey, Clerk of the Board Chuck Zimmerman, CDHD Attorney Erin McCool, CDHD Attorney

Public Present-

The meeting was held in person and via zoom and phone conferencing with members of the public attending and listening to the meeting.

Meeting-

Chair Marc Straub called the meeting to order at 3:00 PM and requested the Board Clerk to take attendance.

Approval of Agenda- (1:18)

Marc Straub opened the meeting by stating that the agenda will be amended to allow the members of the public that are present to speak prior to the Executive Session. Bill Sullivan moved to approve the agenda as presented. Kevin Overbay seconded the motion and the motion passed unanimously.

Public Comment - (1:58)

Chair Marc Straub explained that 20 minutes has been set aside for public comment and asked for those present in person and via Zoom who wanted to speak during public comment to identify themselves. Once Chair Straub identified the number of members of the public that wanted to speak, he allotted three minutes to each presenter.

 Laurie Buhler of Douglas County and Kim Darlington of Douglas County each shared their concerns about the COVID vaccines.

Executive Session: RCW 42.30.110 (1)(i) Pending and Potential Litigation (9:43)

Kevin Overbay moved to go into Executive Session, noting that legal counsel was present. Sharon Waters seconded the motion and the motion passed unanimously.

The Board went into an Executive Session at 3:10 for 30 minutes. At 3:40 the Board extended the session for another 15 minutes. The Board came out of the Executive Session at 3:55.

Consent Agenda (11:03)

- a. Approval of the November 20, 2023 Board Meeting Minutes
- b. Approval of November Payroll in the amount of \$299,706.68
- c. Approval of November Benefits in the amount of \$99,400.84
- d. Approval of Payment of 2023 Vouchers No. 20230770-20230840 in the amount of \$161,493.57

Dan Sutton moved to approve the Consent Agenda items. Marissa Smith seconded, and Board discussion followed. The motion passed unanimously.

New Business- (13:28)

a. 2024 Board Chair and Vice Chair

Chair Marc Straub opened the vote to the Board to select the new Chair and Vice Chair.

Dan Sutton moved to nominate Vice Chair Jerrilea Crawford as Board Chair. Shon Smith seconded the motion and the motion passed with 9 in favor and one abstained (Crawford).

Vice Chair Jerrilea Crawford moved to nominate Board Member Shon Smith as Vice Chair. Kevin Overbay seconded, and the motion passed with 9 in favor and one abstained (S Smith).

<u>Old Business – (15:48)</u>

a. 2024 Budget Review (15:50)

Luke Davies, Health Administrator, and Diane Forhan, Fiscal Director, answered questions about the 2024 Budget Review. Board discussion followed.

Kevin Overbay moved to approve the 2024 Budget Review for the District. Dan Sutton seconded the motion, and the motion passed unanimously.

b. CDHD Budget Reserve Policy (30:58)

Diane Forhan, Fiscal Director, explained that this policy was created using MRSC information and was reviewed by District legal counsel. The appropriate General Fund level is typically no less than 60 days of operating expenditures. The policy was created to have a reserve of \$2,000,000 or about 25% of the budget that gives the District about 90 days of reserves. Board discussion followed.

Jerrilea Crawford moved to approve the policy as presented. Shon Smith seconded the motion. After some Board discussion, the motion was approved unanimously.

Reports -

Administrator

Luke Davies, Health Administrators' brief report was provided in the packet.

Board Discussion - (42:45)

a. <u>Present After-Action Review Work Group Recommendations for Consideration and Approval by</u> the Board

Chair Marc Straub began by sharing his appreciation with the After-Action Review (AAR) Sub-Committee for the time and work they put into the review. The Board Members had an opportunity to discuss the AAR conclusions. There was a general consensus of support for the conclusions presented. The conclusions are the After-Action Review Sub-Committee recommendations.

Dan Sutton moved to approve the After-Action Review Report and to approve the conclusions as Board of Health recommendations and direct the Administrator to work on the recommendations and provide quarterly Board progress updates. Kevin Overbay seconded the motion. The motion passed with 9 in favor and one (Sullivan) abstained.

Chair Marc Straub declared the meeting adjourned at 4:46 PM.

Marc Straub, Board Chair

Hollie Casey, Clerk of the Board