Marshall County Regional Sewer District Board Meeting Minutes

Marshall County Building – 112 W. Jefferson Street, Room 203, Plymouth, IN 46563

The Marshall County Regional Sewer District Board met in a regular session on Wednesday, December 13, 2023, at 6:00 PM at the Marshall County Building located 1t 112 W. Jefferson Street, Room 203, 2nd Floor, Plymouth, IN 46563.

MEETING ATTENDANCE: The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by Thomas McFadden.

1. ROLL CALL:

MCRSD Board:	Thomas McFadden, Christopher Spier, Brenda Meyers, Diann Parsons,
	Debbie Palmer, Jay Stone, and Don Ecker, Jr.
Caraan LLD.	Atty Christenher Nucheum

Carson, LLP:	Atty. Christopher Nusbaum
JPR:	Kenneth K. Jones, Jr., and Jennifer Ransbottom

2. PUBLIC COMMENT:

Statement: Anyone wishing to speak needs to state their Name and Address for the record and will have 3 minutes to speak. Your comments will be made as a part of the public meeting.

No Public Comments.

Public Comments closed.

3. MEETING MINUTES:

Minutes from the Board meeting held on October 17, 2023, were presented, and reviewed by the board members. Don Ecker made a motion to approve the meeting minutes. Motion seconded by Brenda Myers. All were in favor. The motion was approved unanimously.

Minutes from the Insurance Committee meeting held on November 14, 2023, were presented, and reviewed by the board members. Don Ecker made a motion to approve the meeting minutes. Motion seconded by Brenda Myers. All were in favor. The motion was approved unanimously.

4. CLAIM APPROVALS:

None this month – discussion regarding the process was held. Claims will start next month.

5. INSURANCE COMMITTEE REPORT:

Discussions regarding the committee interviewing 2 companies. The Insurance Committee recommends the board hire the company Hylant.

Diann Parsons made a Motion to approve Insurance Committees recommendation to hire Hydrant. Motion seconded by Christopher Spier. All were in favor. The motion was approved unanimously.

6. <u>LEGAL COUNSEL UPDATE:</u>

Marshall County Regional Sewer District Board Meeting Minutes

Marshall County Building – 112 W. Jefferson Street, Room 203, Plymouth, IN 46563

a. Changed By-Laws – Attorney Chris Nusbaum changed the by-Laws to reflect the 3 committees the District will have. Insurance Committee, Finance Committee and Engineering Committee.

Debbie Palmer made a Motion to Approve Amended and Restated By-Laws. Motion seconded by Jay Stone. All were in favor. The motion was approved unanimously.

Discussions were held regarding which board members would be on what committees. It was further determined that the 3 board members appointment to the Finance Committee should be Brenda Meyers, Tom McFadden, and Diann Parsons. The 3 board members appointed to the Engineering Committee shall be Chris Spier, Don Ecker, and Jay Stone.

Debbie Palmer made a motion to appoint Brenda Meyers, Tom McFadden and Diann Parsons to the Finance Committee, and Chris Spier, Jay Stone, and Don Ecker to the Engineering Committee. Motion was seconded by Diann Parsons. All were in favor. The motion was approved unanimously.

7. ENGINEERING UPDATE:

Kenneth K. Jones, Jr. from JPR gave a brief update regarding the timeline and process of moving the project forward but had no further information than what was discussed last month.

Kenneth, Jr. did move forward with the proposal of SWCA for the archaeological and historical services for the project as it has a short deadline for turnaround time.

8. FINANCIAL CONULTANT UPDATE:

Jeff Rowe was unable to attend the meeting. Chris Nusbaum discussed there is no money coming in from the County and they will need a BAN to move forward with paying for the costs of the project. Baker Tilly will provide details in January and the District will need to retain a bond counsel – Ice Miller was mentioned.

9. ANY OTHER BUSINESS:

Meeting dates for 2024 were discussed. The monthly board meetings will be held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. and located at 112 W. Jefferson Street, Room 203, Plymouth, IN 46563. The room is available on those dates and times.

Don Ecker made a motion to approve the monthly board meetings be held on the 2nd Wednesday of each month for 2024 at 6:00 p.m. at 112 W. Jefferson Street, Room 203, Plymouth, IN 46564. Motion was seconded by Chris Spier. All were in favor. The motion was approved unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT:

Don Ecker made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Motion was seconded by Chris Spier. All were in favor. Meeting adjourned 6:22 PM.