Briefing Note

Parish Elections 2021

Peter Taylor / Saranjeet Chana 01908 253930 or 01908 252486 <u>peter.taylor@milton-keynes.gov.uk</u> or <u>Saranjeet.Chana@Milton-keynes.gov.uk</u>

1. Briefing Session

There will be an online briefing session for candidates and clerks on **Tuesday 9 March at 6pm**. An invitation has been sent to all clerks, and candidates can contact their clerk for a copy of the invitation link if required. Slides from the session can be provided for those who are unable to attend.

2. Background

There will be elections for 17 parishes (including 55 wards) on Thursday 6 May 2021. There will also be elections for all 19 Borough Wards and for a Police & Crime Commissioner for Thames Valley. A full suite of guidance is available for prospective candidates at parish elections on the <u>Electoral Commission website</u>. More information and a full timetable is available on our <u>website</u>.

Notices of Election will be available on our website from Wednesday 24 March. If you require a separate copy for your website or notice boards, please contact us in advance of this date.

3. Nominations

Forms for nomination are available on the Council's website. Nomination papers must be delivered by hand to **Saxon Court, 502 Avebury Boulevard, MK9 3HS** between 10am and 4pm between Wednesday 24 March and Thursday 8 April. Please ask for a member of the elections team rather than handing nomination papers to reception staff.

Saxon Court is currently being used as a vaccination centre, so please be aware that:

- parking may not be available in the immediate vicinity of the building;
- you will need to enter via the main reception, which is situated to the left of the vaccination centre entrance as you approach the building; and
- Candidates/clerks will need to wear a face covering when inside the building.

We strongly encourage that informal checks are undertaken and that an appointment for delivery is arranged. Where possible, it would be helpful for Clerks (or other designated persons) to deliver some, or all papers together to reduce the number of physical contacts.

You can send scanned / photographed copies of nomination papers via an email for informal checks or make an appointment for delivery, by contacting Peter Taylor or Saranjeet Chana.

In all cases, three forms must be delivered:

- Nomination form
- Candidate's consent to nomination
- Home address form

Where a candidate wishes to stand with the description and emblem of a political party, two further forms must be submitted:

- Certificate of authorisation
- Request for a party emblem form

There is no provision in law for the appointment of an election agent for parish elections and these forms will not be accepted.

The nomination form must be subscribed by two local government electors who are on the electoral register on 1 March for the electoral area (the parish, or the parish ward – if warded) in which the candidate is standing. Candidates can contact Peter Taylor or Saranjeet Chana if they wish to check the elector number of their subscribers.

There is a space for a description on nominations forms. For non-party candidates, whatever is written will be printed on the ballot paper/notices, provided it is not misleading or offensive. Up to six words can be used or it can be left blank (so that only the candidates name and address details will appear on materials). The description is not generally intended to be a physical description of the candidate.

The candidate can elect to show the local authority area where they reside as opposed to their home address on the ballot paper/notices. If this is the case the principal area (Milton Keynes) should be entered on the Home address form.

4. Purdah

Purdah will formally commence on 24 March, when the Notice of Election is published. The general legal principle is that during this period a local authority (including parishes) must not publish any material that appears to be designed to affect support for a political party or a candidate.

Normal business can continue (including meetings) but councils should:

- Avoid dealing with any controversial business at meetings
- Avoid proactively scheduling events attracting public and media interest
- Avoid quoting councillors involved in the election in any external communications or proactive news releases
- Ensure election materials (political posters or leaflets) are not displayed on any Parish or Borough premises or property (including street furniture, notice boards, market stalls, website etc).

5. Results/The Count

Notices of Uncontested Elections will be available on our website from Friday 9 April. If you require a separate copy for your website or notice boards, please contact us in advance of this date.

For contested elections, ballot papers will be verified at Saxon Court from 9am on Friday 7 May. The Counting of parish papers will be dealt with at the same venue, in a separate area from 10am on Saturday 8 May. Separate information about attendance will be provided to candidates nearer to the time.

6. After the elections

Councillors who do not stand or are not re-elected will retire on Monday 10 May, when new Councillors will take up office. All candidates must submit a spending return to the election office by Tuesday 3 June 2021. A nil return is required even if no expenditure was incurred.

7. Parishes with elections in May 2021

Parish/Town Council	Ward (if warded)	Vacancies
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford	Central Bletchley	1
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford	Eaton North	3
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford	Eaton South	3
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford	Fenny Stratford	3
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford	Granby	1
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford	Manor North	1
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford	Manor South	3
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford	Newton Leys	1
Bletchley & Fenny Stratford	Queensway & Denbigh North	2
Bradwell	Bradwell	3
Bradwell	Bradwell Common	3
Bradwell	Heelands	4
Campbell Park	Fishermead	5
Campbell Park	Oldbrook	7
Campbell Park	Springfield	3
Campbell Park	Willen & Newlands	2
Campbell Park	Woolstone	2
Central Milton Keynes	Campbell Park	2
Central Milton Keynes	Central Milton Keynes East	3
Central Milton Keynes	Central Milton Keynes West	3
Clifton Reynes*	<none></none>	2
Lavendon	<none></none>	8
New Bradwell	<none></none>	9
Newport Pagnell	Newport Pagnell North	6
Newport Pagnell	Newport Pagnell South	10
Newton Blossomville*	<none></none>	3
Old Woughton	Passmore	2
Old Woughton	Woughton on the Green North	3
Old Woughton	Woughton on the Green South	2
Old Woughton	Woughton Park	2
Olney	<none></none>	15
Ravenstone	<none></none>	5
Simpson & Ashland	Ashland	5
Simpson & Ashland	Simpson Village	3
Stony Stratford	Fullers Slade	2
Stony Stratford	Galley Hill	2
Stony Stratford	Stony Stratford North	2
Stony Stratford	Stony Stratford South East	2
Stony Stratford	Stony Stratford South East Stony Stratford South West	2
West Bletchley	Abbeys	4
West Bletchley	Castles	3
West Bletchley	Church Green	3
West Bletchley	Counties	3
West Bletchley	Fairways	3

West Bletchley	Poets	2
West Bletchley	Racecourses	2
West Bletchley	Rivers	3
West Bletchley	Saints	2
West Bletchley	Scots	3
Weston Underwood	<none></none>	5
Wolverton & Greenleys	Greenleys	3
Wolverton & Greenleys	Hodge Lea	2
Wolverton & Greenleys	Stacey Bushes	2
Wolverton & Greenleys	Wolverton East	4
Wolverton & Greenleys	Wolverton West	5
Woughton **	Leadenhall	1

* Newton Blossomville and Clifton Reynes are grouped ** By-election

-- Briefing Note ends --